Family Mysteries, Genealogy Roadblocks & Such

Written by:

Jackie Branham-Wilkinson

Sometimes genealogy is just plain hard. No documentation for one person or loads for them but nothing really makes sense. It takes a lot of working the pieces of the puzzle sometimes to get them to fit. Sometimes we’re right, sometimes we’re just not. Most of us are willing to admit when we’ve just concluded the wrong thing and try to fix it the best way we can.

For years, I’ve looked and looked for one genealogy roadblock that has just about at times put me over the edge. It’s not a very distant relative either. My great great grandmother. Seems like nobody could figure where she came from or who her people are.  We had always been told her name is Louise Chandler Young….or Louise Young Chandler. She married my great great grandfather, Adam Crum the 22nd day of June 1861 in Johnson County, Kentucky. No other information is given on their marriage certificate. So I set out to try and find out who she was. With a lot of help from a good friend, we came up with something and I believe it’s pretty close to what was.

adam-and-louise-young-1

Adam & Louise Crum

The following information is from census records and other documents such as children’s death records.

Louise was born July 1844 in Kentucky.

The first child of Adam and Louise to die is Monterville Crum. He died in 1911. According to his death certificate, his mother was Louise GREEN. Now that was a whole new name. Never had heard of Green before.  For years, I just thought it was wrong information. I was wrong.

The next child of Adam and Louise’s to die wasn’t until 1932, Uncle Noah.  Many years had passed since the death of Monterville and Uncle Noah’s mother is listed as Louise Young.

We looked for a Louise Young for years but just recently, my friend found a Louise Green on the 1850 census record in Lawrence County, Ky. She was listed as being 4 years old.  Relation to the head of household is not listed on this census year.  Listed with her are William YOUNG age 52; Mary YOUNG age 26; Louise GREEN age 4; John GREEN age 0.

According to the 1860 census record, she is living in the home with a William GREEN, also in Lawrence County, Ky: Wm Green, age 42; Sarah Green, age 36; Shaderick Green, age 18, Nancy V. Green, age 14; Louisa Green, age 14; Wm W Green (no age listed); James H Green, age 9; Urlena Green, age 7; Susan Green, age 3 and infant not named Green 1.

By the 1870 census record, Louise is married to Adam and has already started her own family.

Family stories have generated about what a hard life Louise had when she was little. Times were so different and mind you what we’ve found is just speculation, but it sure seems to fit the family stories and what we “think we know”.

So we know where the YOUNG name came from and probably where the GREEN name came from. But CHANDLER? Where did that come from? I believe Chandler was Louise’s mothers maiden name or another married name. For what it’s worth, I think Louise was living with her mother and step father in 1850. In 1860, I think she had moved in with her biological father, William Wellington Green for whatever reason. I’m not sure but close knit communities tend to be hush hush and we may never know  the real reason. The following picture is who I believe to be Louise’s biological father however he and Louise’s mother, Mary were never married that I could find a record of.

green-william-wellington

The next pictures are the ones of Adam and Louise’s children that I have acquired. Some were mine and some have been found on ancestry.com and online.  Call me crazy, but I do see a family resemblance to most of them with W.W. Green, Sr.

 

 

I hope in trying to find out the answer to our mystery for our Grandmother Louise, nothing has been said to offend anyone. Life is what it is. History is what it is. But I sure am glad to piece a little of her past together with what we THINK is right.  And who knows, maybe, just maybe we’ll find a whole new slew of kin!

Til the next time, may God bless you…that’s my prayer!

Leave a comment